United Kingdom

By Admin Eltis / Updated: 20 Dec 2019

The UK, as a nation state, is made up of four different countries with their own governments, all of which have a different approach to Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMPs). These countries are England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. The system in the City of London is also different from the other countries. 

It is also important to note that in the UK the SUMP concept, as defined in the EU Guidelines, has been applied in rural as well as urban areas. Local transport or highways authorities (LTAs) are the organisations that prepare SUMPs in most of the UK and they cover both urban and rural areas.

Legal Requirements: It is mandatory for local authorities to develop a Local Transport Plan (LTP). London is made up of 33 boroughs and each borough must produce a Local Implementation Plan (LIP0 for transport. The legal basis for LTPs is the Transport Act 2000, amended from the Local Transport Act 2008. For London: LIPs under legislation of 1999 Greater London Act.

National Guidance: Department for Transport’s statutory ‘Guidance on Local Transport Plans’ (LTP3 Guidance document, THE STATE-OF-THE-ART OF SUSTAINABLE URBAN MOBILITY PLANS IN EUROPE 22 July 2009). In addition ‘Policies and Good Practice Handbook’ (2009).

Plans in place: Compulsory for local authorities.

Sustainability objective: Framework for LTP provision makes clear references to sustainability principles (national set of five key goals).

Public involvement: Requirements for developing LTP in collaboration with a range of stakeholders and for public consultations at various stages of the planning process.

Linked with finance: In practice allocation of funding almost exclusively on per capita basis. No link to national performance funding any more (in the past, national performance indicators were linked to finance).

A deeper insight into the UK situation can be downloaded from the Endurance National Inventory from UK.

Source: epomm.eu.