By Admin Eltis / Updated: 28 May 2019

Czechia is one of the countries 'which have yet to adopt sustainable mobility planning'. In Czechia, there is no national guidance or legislation on Sustainable Urban Mobility Plans (SUMPs) yet.

The knowledge on SUMPs, their usefulness and characteristics, is increasing especially in certain cities which act as a 'laboratory' for introducing SUMPs with respect to the conditions and decision-making practise in Czech cities. The CDV – Transport Research Centre (together with some NGOs dealing with sustainable mobility and environmental issues) is progressing with awareness raising on SUMPs at the local and national levels. The CDV is also preparing tailor-made guidance for Czech cities to reach a consistent approach to introducing and implementing SUMPs in larger cities.

Two Czech cities (Opava and Ostrava) started developing SUMPs in 2013. In all the 13 regions, the municipalities are responsible for the development of land-use plans, which include transport.

National Guidance: The National Transport Policy of Czechia (Ministry of Transport) and its sectoral strategies (e.g., the National Cycling Strategy)

Plans in place: Land-use plans compulsory for municipalities; Regional emission reduction programmes

Sustainability objective: Great space for improvement. The Ministry of Transport has become involved in awareness raising workshops and is promoting sustainable transport planning; besides, a new transport policy already includes the topic of SUMPs (certain level of coordination from the national level proposed). Czechia adopted a Strategic Framework for Sustainable Development in 2010, where transport is tackled in three of its four main priorities.

Public involvement: Officially only within the land-use planning process.

Linked with finance: Operational programmes (Moravian-Silesian region) and budgets of regional governments can finance SUMP preparation. A deeper insight into the Czech situation can be downloaded from the Endurance National Inventory for the Czech Republic.