State of the European Union (SOTEU) 2020

By Hannah Figg / Updated: 14 Sep 2020

Don’t miss the State of the Union address to be delivered by European Commission President, Ursula von der Leyen, before the European Parliament on Wednesday 16 September, the same date as the beginning of EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK 2020. The address will be live-streamed from 8.00 am (CEST).

Every year in September, the President of the European Commission delivers the State of the Union address before the European Parliament, taking stock of achievements of the past year and presenting priorities for the year ahead. The President also sets out how the Commission will address the most pressing challenges the European Union is facing and ideas for shaping the future of the EU.

The priorities that were set at the beginning of the mandate remain valid in addressing today’s challenges. The Commission remains fully determined to deliver on its flagship initiatives, the European Green Deal and the Digital Strategy, as they are key to relaunching the European economy and building a more resilient, sustainable, fair and prosperous Europe.

Europe must lead the transition to a healthy planet and a new digital world. But it can only do so by bringing people together and upgrading our unique social market economy to fit today’s new ambitions. This means making the most of all of our strengths and potential, and focusing on equality and creating chances for all, whether for women or men, whether from East, West, South or North, whether young or old. Europe will continue to strive for more at home in order to lead in the world. To see further details on the Commission’s priorities see here.

You can also join the webinar panel discussion on Wednesday 16 September from 8.00 am-9.45 am (BST) via the Zoom platform which will follow the address. This panel discussion will assess the key themes explored and President von der Leyen’s outlook and priorities for the future of Europe.

Speakers for this discussion will include:

  • Senator Regina Doherty, Leader of Seanad Éireann;
  • David O’Sullivan, Chair of the Governing Board of the European Policy Centre; and
  • Dr Mary C. Murphy, Jean Monnet Chair in European Integration and Lecturer in Politics, University College Cork.

To register, please click here and enter your details:

Photo Credit: © areporter/ - no permission to re-use image(s) without separate licence from Shutterstock.


Public and stakeholder involvement