Watch the EUROPEAN MOBILITY WEEK and SUMP Award ceremony live

By Tom Nokes / Updated: 22 Mar 2019

The European Mobility Week (EMW) and SUMP award ceremony will be available to watch live at 19:00 CET on Thursday 21st March.

The ceremony will be live-streamed on the European Union's TV information service, Europe by Satellite plus (EbS+)

The EMW Awards recognise local authorities judged to have done the most to raise awareness of sustainable mobility during EMW. The SUMP Awards recognise local and regional authorities for excellence in sustainable urban mobility planning. Every year, the SUMP Award focuses on a specific topic and this year that focus is on multimodality, which was declared theme of the year (2018) by the European Commission.

The evening will be moderated by veteran host Katrina Sichel, with Transport Commissioner Violeta Bulc and Jürgen Müller, Head of Cabinet for Karmenu Vella, the Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries will present the awards to the winning towns and cities.

The finalists for the awards have already been announced as:

The finalists for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2018 for larger municipalities are:

  • Gdynia (Poland)

  • Lisbon (Portugal)

  • Palma (Spain)

The finalists for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2018 for smaller municipalities (less than 50,000 inhabitants) are:
  • Karditsa (Greece)

  • Lindau (Germany)

  • Oliveira do Bairro (Portugal

The 7th SUMP Award focused on multimodality – the use of different modes of transport during the same journey or for different trips, for both goods and passengers, finalists are:
  • Basel (Switzerland)

  • Dresden (Germany)

  • Greater Manchester (United Kingdom)


To read the official press release, click here.


Urban mobility planning
Policy and research
Scheme appraisal
Monitoring and evaluation