Home > Discover > News > Deadline approaches for European Green Leaf Award applications

Deadline approaches for European Green Leaf Award applications

By News Editor / Updated: 06 Oct 2017

The application deadline for the European Green Leaf Award is now fast approaching, with 18 October the last day for submissions.

To celebrate the tenth year of the European Green Capital competition, the European Commission will for the first time award a financial prize to the winner of the European Green Leaf 2019 title.

The European Green Leaf Award, established in 2015, recognised and commends the work of smaller cities in driving environmental change. Previous winners include Mollet del Vallès (Spain), Torres Vedras (Portugal), and Galway (Ireland).

The award is open to all towns and cities across Europe with a population of between 20,000 and 100,000 inhabitants. The evaluation process consists of two different stages. First, an international independent expert panel assesses each city’s application, selecting a shortlist for the second stage of the competition. Applicants are then assessed on the basis of six topic areas:

  • Climate Change & Energy Performance;
  • Sustainable Urban Mobility;
  • Nature, Biodiversity & Sustainable Land Use;
  • Air Quality and Noise;
  • Waste and Circular Economy;
  • Water.

For information on the entry criteria and to submit an application, visit the European Green Capital website at ec.europa.eu.

To read the profiles of previous winners, visit ec.europa.eu.

Image credit: EGCA & EGLA Awards Ceremony, Essen, 2017 (from Flickr of European Green Capital Award), © Rupert Oberhäuser

0 have recommended.
Share on